St. Benedicts College, Colombo, Sri Lanka
IT Society - Articles - News Categories - Discussion Forum - Web Links - Tell A Benedictine
Main Menu
Last Seen Users
YOHAN FSC03:37:43
lishantha 3 days
Sydney Xavier 1 week
GlenJoseph 5 weeks
PrasannaSilva63 weeks
Dennis Chand...89 weeks
Admin90 weeks
Robert De Rose93 weeks
Harindu Goon...111 weeks
Santha Perera156 weeks
Valentine170 weeks
Nilesh Tavar...177 weeks
dougjay181 weeks
cassian193 weeks
Geethanath H...194 weeks
Dilshan de S...227 weeks
chamara Dhar...227 weeks
bertusvanhoff235 weeks
Members only
Benedictines to remain unbeaten
SportSt.Benedict’s College Colombo, with two outright victories and four first innings wins, will be striving to remain unbeaten in the current inter-schools under 19 cricket tournament.

The squad consists of a few experienced players while most of the others are freshers.
This year, They are playing against some top school teams while competing in the Division One tournament organized by Sri Lanka schools Cricket Association.

Dilan Angelo (Captain)

St.Benedict's College, a school with a proud cricketing history has produced national players of the calibre of Lionel Fernando, who played two memorable innings of 48 and 72 not out at the P.Sara Oval against Gary Sobers’ West Indies team. Nihal Soysa, Dr wCyril Ernest, Ranjan Gunatilleke and Ranjith Fernando who played for the national team for more than a decade including the 1975 and 1979 World Cups and later turned out to be a fine commentator.The Bens have also produced several outstanding club cricketers like Tony Appadurei, Kumar Ramanathan, Elmo Rodrigopulle (Both of whom played for the Board President's XI against visiting international teams), Sunil Fernando,Joe Saverimuttupulle, Malcolm Mack, Basil Perera, Nevin Noyahr and Lal Wickramatunga (who had the honour of being adjudged the best bowler in schools in 1970). The Benedictines also produced a fine all rounder in Pradeep Hewage who captained the Sri Lanka Under 19 team in the Youth World Cup in South Africa in 1998.Gehan Perera who captained the School in 1978 was picked as the best bowler in the schools that year.Last year the Benedictines produced a fine all rounder in Jason Perera, who had an excellent season and looks a future national prospect.
The team is captained by fourth year Coloursman Dilan Angelo Ratnasinghe, a right hand batsman who has done well in bowling too.He started the new season with a great amount of confidence having scored over 300 runs. His best performance was 50 runs against Holy Cross College. Kalutara .In bowling he has captured around 35 wickets.

Madura Madushanka (Vice Captain)

Right hander Madura Madusanka, who is another senior player is the Vice Captain of the side. He has amassed a total of 620 runs with a highest individual score of 90 against Thurstan College.
Wicketkeeper batsman Thilina Silva also a utility player in the squad who has made useful contributions when the team was in dire straits. He is a good middle order batsman who strengthens the batting line up.He is also a fine wicketkeeper
Second year player and left arm spinner Yohan Soyza who is a vital link in their spin attack. Having captured more than 80 wickets he has proved his excellence in bowling. This year he has bagged more than 30 wickets.
Recently Soyza captured a four wicket haul (4 for 44) in their tournament match against the formidable St.Sebastian's College Moratuwa.
Geethika Jayatilleke has been able to add some variety to the team with his fine bowling. Sameera Sandamal , Mahela Jayalath, Nimesh Fonseka , Janidu Karunatilleke and Shiran Rathnayake are the others in the spin attack.

The new ball will be shared by Chandana Jayasanka and Jagath Poorna Silva .Sameera Sandamal contributes his alma mater not only by bowling but also with batting.
He knocked a fine half century (87) in their match against St.Sebastian's Moratuwa.
The coach N.I.C. Silva says that he is quite satisfied with the performances of the team.
Although the team does not have big names, they have fared well against some of the best teams.
The St.Benedict's College Under 19 Squad

Dilan Angelo (Captain), Madura Madushanka (Vice Captain), Yohan Soyza, Jagath Poorna Silva, Thilina Silva, Mahela Jayalath, Nimesh Fonseka, Janindu Karunatilleke,Ruvishka Thiagarajah, Thulina Dilshan Silva, Geethika Jayatilleke, Shiran Rathnayake, Sameera Sandamal, Lasitha Maduranga, Poorna Charuka and Sithum Wijesinghe.
Coach: N.I.C.Silva

St.Benedict’s College under 19 first XI Squad. (Standing from left) Vivian Saverymuthapulle (M.I.C),Yohan Soyza, Jagath Poorna Silva, Thilina Silva, Dilan Angelo (Captain), Mahela Jayalath, Nimesh Fonseka, Janindu Karunatilleke,Ruvishka Thiagarajah,N.I.C.Silva (Coach). (Front row from left) Thulina Dilshan Silva, Madura Madushanka (Vice Captain), Geethika Jayatilleke, Shiran Rathnayake, Sameera Sandamal, Lasitha Maduranga, Poorna Charuka and Sithum Wijesinghe.

Pictures by Bhagrawa Kithsiri

By Thushan JAYASURIYA Sri Lanka Daily News 31 January 2013
 Posted by DARREL LUDOWYKE on January 31 2013 05:59:50 · 0 Comments · 2053 Reads Print
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Forum Threads
Newest Threads
Any OBU chapter in I...
St Lucia's Cathedral...
Is anyone here from ...
College Big Match
Old Bens UK – Annual...
Hottest Threads
College Big Match [15]
Big Match [6]
Web site for A/L ... [5]
Season's greetings [5]
Membershp for OBU [5]