St. Benedicts College, Colombo, Sri Lanka
IT Society - Articles - News Categories - Discussion Forum - Web Links - Tell A Benedictine
Main Menu
Members only

The Old Benedictines with a spirited team effort won the Veterans (Over 40) Saints quadrangular Tournament for the 3rd successive year when they beat the Old Anthonians studded with some former outstanding crickets including Sri Lankan cap Mahesh Gunathilake convincingly. The Anthonians who were sent to bat by the Benedictine Skipper Nevin Noyahr did not have a clue in handling the Benedictine attack and were bundled out for a mere 45 runs with Lalith Fernando and Nevin Noyahr capturing 4 and 3 wickets respectively. Earlier the Ben opening bowlers Malcolm Rodrigo and Denzil Perea maintained a tight line and length and kept the free-scoring Anthonian batsman on check and the scoring level to a minimum. The Bens scored the required amount of runs with ease for the loss of 1 wicket, winning the match and the tournament in style with Ranil Perera scoring a quick fire 23 runs, while Mohan Saverimuttu was unbeaten on 15.

The Benedictines beat the Old Peterites in the Semi Finals on Saturday by 5 wickets while the Anthonians got the better of the Old Joes. In reply to the Peterites 123 runs, the Benedictines scored the winning 124 runs for the loss of 5 wickets and 4 overs to spare with Rohan “Kurungus” Ranasinghe top scoring with a stylish unbeaten 24 runs. Mohan Saverimuttu also scored 23 runs opening the innings.

The Bens also swept the board picking up all the awards on offer with the following adjudicated by former Sri Lanka player S. Illangaratnam as:
Best Batsman : Ranil Perera
Best Bowler : Nevin Noyahr
Best Fielder : Ravi Irugalbandara
Man of the Match : Lalith Fernando

The Champion team comprised: Navin Noyahr (Captain), Denzil Perera, Lalith Fernando, Ranil Perera, Malcolm Rodrigo, Ravi Irugalbandara, Mohan Saverimuttu, Rohan Ranasinghe, Dinesh Madawela, Bevan Ranasinghe, Vivien Saverimuttapulle and Gamini Chandrapala (12th Man)

Then it was the turn of the Old Bens Basketball team, when they beat the Old Anthonians by 94 to 56 at the finals of the inaugural Quadrangular tournament played for the Very Rev. Fr. Joe Wickremasinghe Trophy donated by the Old Peterites. The Bens beat Old Peterites convincingly in the semi finals. In the finals Bens skipper and National player Asanka Perera and had an outstanding game, and together with Brawin Fernando, Sonal De Silva and Jenebet did the bulk of the scoring. Adjudicator Festus Perera selected Old Ben I. Jenebet as the best player of the tournament.

The Champion Bens team comprised: Asanka Perera (Captain), Brawin Fernando, Sonal De Silva, I Jenebet, Jude Saranga, R. Ashok, David Asanka, I. Gerard Pushpakumara, Sri Gunawardena,

The Old Peterites however won the main quadrangular when they beat the Old Joes by 4 wickets at Darley Road in the finals, with Sri Lankan Test and One Day Player Kaushal Lokuarachchi capturing 6 wickets and winning the best bowler's and Man of the Finals awards. Kaushal also accounted for 5 wickets at the Semi Finals against the Benedictines, who were bowled out for 88 runs with only Rally Tissera 30 runs and Carmen Mapatuna 11 offering any resistance. The Peterites got the required runs for the loss of 4 wickets with S.K. Perera taking 3 wickets.

Old Benedictines Sports Club President Kumar Sabaratnam, Chairman of the Organizing Committee Sri Lal De Silva, OBSC past President Dinesh Madawela together with their team must be congratulated for making fantastic arrangements and hosting the event in the true Benedictine style. The social held at the Sports Club with the participation of our dear friends from the 4 schools went on till the early hours of Sunday with our Basketball maestro Malsiri Perera displaying his many talents with the rendition of Vaada Baila in his own charismatic style

The Chief Guest for the occasion was our evergreen Old Ben Felix Dias, while former soccer star Old Ben Damien Fernando, member of the interim committee of Sri Lanka Cricket was the guest of honour.

Ravi Irugalbandara
Hony. General Secretary - SBC OBU Colombo
 Posted by webmaster on October 23 2006 00:00:58 · 0 Comments · 2048 Reads Print
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Forum Threads
Newest Threads
Any OBU chapter in I...
St Lucia's Cathedral...
Is anyone here from ...
College Big Match
Old Bens UK – Annual...
Hottest Threads
College Big Match [15]
Big Match [6]
Web site for A/L ... [5]
Season's greetings [5]
Membershp for OBU [5]